* Return to "the Henry James scholar's Guide to Web Sites" *

Books by Henry James (1843-1916)

A Passionate Pilgrim and Other Tales, 1875;
Transatlantic Sketches, 1875;
Roderick Hudson, 1876;
The American, 1877;
Watch and Ward, 1878 (James's first novel, serialized in 1871);
French Poets and Novelists, 1878;
The Europeans, 1878;
Daisy Miller, 1878;
An International Episode, 1879;
The Madonna of the Future and Other Tales, 1879;
Hawthorne, 1879;
The Diary of a Man of of Fifty, and A Bundle of Letters, 1880;
Confidence, 1880;
Washington Square, 1881;
The Portrait of a Lady, 1881;
The Siege of London, The Pension Beaurepas, and The Point of View, 1883;
Portraits of Places, 1883;
Tales of Three Cities, 1884;
A Little Tour in France, 1885;
Stories Revived, 1885;
The Bostonians, 1886;
The Princess Casamassima, 1886;
Partial Portraits, 1888;
The Aspern Papers, Louisa Pallant, and The Modern Warning, 1888;
The Reverberator, 1888;
A London Life, The Patagonia, The Liar, and Mrs. Temperley, 1889;
The Tragic Muse, 1890;
The Lesson of the Master, The Marriages, etc., 1892;
The Private Life, etc, 1893;
The Wheel of Time, etc., 1893;
The Real Thing and Other Tales, 1893;
Picture and Text, 1893;
Essays in London and Elsewhere, 1893;
Theatricals: Two Comedies--Tenants, and Disengaged, 1894;
Theatricals, Second Series, 1895;
Terminations, The Death of the Lion, etc, 1895;
Embarrassments, 1896;
The Other House, 1896;
The Spoils of Poynton, 1897;
What Maisie Knew, 1897;
The Two Magics, The Turn of the Screw, and Covering End, 1898;
In the Cage, 1898;
The Awkward Age, 1899;
The Soft Side, 1900;
The Sacred Fount, 1901;
The Wings of the Dove, 1902;
William Wetmore Story and His Friends, 1903;
The Better Sort, 1903;
The Ambassadors, 1903;
The Golden Bowl, 1904;
The Question of Our Speech, and The Lesson of Balzac, 1905;
English Hours, 1905;
The American Scene, 1907;
Views and Reviews, 1908;
Julia Bride, 1909;
Italian Hours, 1909;
The Finer Grain, 1910;
The Outcry, 1911;
A Small Boy and Others, 1913;
Notes on Novelists, 1914;
Notes of a Son and Brother, 1914;
The Ivory Tower, 1917;
The Middle Years, 1917;
The Sense of the Past, 1917;
Within the Rim and Other Essays, 1914-1915 - 1918;
Gabrielle de Bergerac, 1918;
Travelling Companions, 1919.

(Note: Within the Rim and Other Essays, 1914-1915 was published in 1918. 1914-1915 is part of the title.)
Collected works: The Novels and Tales of Henry James, 1907-1917 (known as the New York Edition. It contains the first printing of "Julia Bride," "The Jolly Corner," and "Fordham Castle."
The Bostonians, The Europeans, Washington Square, The Sacred Fount, Watch and Ward, Confidence, The Outcry, and The Other House were omitted from the New York Edition.)