Due to space considerations we limit the amount of space available on each Zimbra account. This page will give you information about how to find out how much space you have, how to get more space, and how to 'clean up' your account to free up room.
- Q: How do I check my Zimbra quota?
- A: When logged into Zimbra, look for where it shows your name at
the top right (near the "Log Out" button. Your quota is shown
graphically as a bar below your name. If you put your mouse over
your name for a moment your storage usage (as a percentage of your
maximum storage and the absolute value in GigaBytes) will show up.
The color of the storage bar will progress from green to red as you
get close and closer to your maximum storage allocation.
- Q: How do I get more storage space?
- A: E-mail your request to Paul Chauvet (firstname.lastname@example.org) Request for more space will be dealt with on a case by case basis.
- Q: What contributes to my quota?
- A: All mail in all folders on your Zimbra account counts towards your quota. This includes your Inbox and Sent folders (which is where the majority of mail in most accounts is) as well as Trash and Junk folders.
- Q: How do I find out what is taking up the most space in my account?
- A: If you place your mouse over any folder in the folder list on the left for a few seconds, you will be given the total amount of storage for that folder both in terms of quantity of messages, and in total size of those messages. If you have subfolders, the storage size shown is only for the folder your mouse is over and does not include all subfolders.
Tips on freeing up storage space:
- You can select multiple messages at a time by holding down the CTRL key on your keyboard while clicking on messages with your mouse. Please note: on a Mac, this is the Command key, instead of CTRL. After selecting multiple messages you can delete them (or move them to another folder).
- You can select a whole range of messages at a time by clicking on one message, then holding the SHIFT key on your keyboard and clicking a second message. By doing this the first message, the second message, and all in between will be highlighted. You can then delete or file away these marked messages.
- Work on clearing out your oldest messages first. To do this:
- Go into a folder you wish to work on
- Click on the 'Received' column heading (above the date/times of the messages) to sort that folder in reverse order - oldest first.
- You can then delete or file away your oldest messages first - as opposed to the more recent mail which you may be more likely to need.
- When finished, you can click on the Received column heading again to switch back to the normal sort order (newest messages first).
- Search for and delete old mailing list messages. Use the 'Search' box at the top to show older mailing list messages. For example, search for: all-fs or facstaf-l. Many of these messages contain large attachments and take up a disproportionate amount of space.
- Keep in mind - messages in the Trash folder count towards your
quota as well. When deleting messages normally, they are moved
to the Trash. Messages in the Trash folder are automatically
deleted from Trash 30 days after they are deleted - as a safety net
to prevent you from losing messages you accidentally deleted. When
deleting mail to save space though, you may want to periodically
empty the trash (which you can do by right-clicking on the Trash
folder and choosing Empty Trash).
Items deleted from the trash are not normally recoverable, so please be cautious when doing this. Deleting from the trash should only be done when you have exhausted other options AND You have double checked your trash to make sure there is nothing there that you need.
I can't delete anything else - I need everything I have! What can I do?!?
If your account is full and you feel you can't delete anything else then the best option is to archive older mail locally on your computer (home or office). The best way of doing this is to use the Mozilla Thunderbird e-mail program. The instructions below will show you how do to this.
- Go to http://csc.newpaltz.edu/e-mail/mozilla-thunderbird-zimbra.
- Download and install Thunderbird using the instructions there.
- After Thunderbird is setup, you will see two sections of folders on the left. The first section (identified by your e-mail address) is what is stored on Zimbra. The second, Local Folders, is mail stored locally on your computer. Any mail stored in Local Folders will not be counted towards your Zimbra quota.
- You can create new folders in Local Folders by clicking File at the top and choosing New then Folder.
- Name your folder whatever you would like but in the section where it says "Create as a subfolder of:", choose Local Folders then Choose this for the parent. This will store your new folder in the local folder section.
- You can now move messages into this new folder. If you want to move multiple messages, see the first two items in the "Tips on freeing up storage space" section of this guide.
- Please note: Any mail stored on your computer is not backed up when our servers are backed up. You are responsible for backing up any local mail that you feel you need to have a backup for. We recommend the freely available "MozBackup" utility, available at: mozbackup.jasnapaka.com. A Help Guide is available for MozBackup. You can use that to backup your mail to an external hard drive or flash drive.
Alternatively, you can 'export' a folder from Zimbra. This doesn't delete it, but does let you back it up to your hard drive, a flash drive, a DVD, etc. To export a folder:
- Go to Preferences in Zimbra and choose Import/Export on the left hand side.
- In the export section, change the Source to the folder you are looking to export. Note: if you have a folder with sub-folders, it will export all sub-folders.
- Click Export at the bottom right
- Now that you have a backup of any folder you exported, you can delete the copy on Zimbra if you so choose. Just right-click on the name of the folder in Zimbra and choose Delete.
- Note: The only reasonable way to read these folders again is to import them back again, via the Import/Export window in Preferences.
Return to Main Help Index